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Section 07 	
Driver Qualification Rules
49 CFR Part 391 and Minn. Stat. Chapter 221

Driver qualification (DQ) rules set the minimum standards for a person who 
drives a commercial motor vehicle (CMV). The rules also establish minimum 
duties of employers with respect to the qualification of their drivers. 
Minnesota Statutes adopt the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 
(FMSCRs) for Driver Qualifications found in 49 CFR, Part 391.

No carrier shall require or permit an unqualified driver to operate a 
commercial motor vehicle. Drivers and carriers operating in Minnesota are 
subject to the rules for driver qualifications if they operate vehicles that are:

•	 Over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight (GVW) or gross vehicle 
weight rating (GVWR) in interstate commerce;

•	 Designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, 
operating in interstate commerce;

•	 Designed or used to transport between 9 and 15 passengers, including 
the driver, in interstate commerce for direct compensation;

•	 Of any size vehicle transporting hazardous material of a type or 
quantity that requires the vehicle to be placarded operating in 
interstate or intrastate commerce; 

•	 Of any size transporting property, including household goods, 
operating for-hire in intrastate commerce;

•	 Over 10,000 pounds GVW or GVWR operating as a private carrier in 
intrastate commerce;

•	 Over 10,000 pounds GVW or GVWR operating in intrastate commerce 
providing transportation described in Minn. Statutes § 221.025, except 
for school buses, commuter vans, authorized emergency vehicles and 
transportation described in 221.025 clause (6), (10), (11) or (12) (see 
Section 06 – Exempt Carriers); or

•	 Designed to transport 8 or more passengers, including the driver, 
operating for-hire in intrastate commerce.
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Exceptions/Exemptions:

1.	For interstate commerce, the DQ rules do not apply to a driver 
operating a CMV engaged in custom harvesting operations or a driver 
operating a CMV owned and operated by a beekeeper in the seasonal 
transportation of bees (see 49 CFR Section 391.2).

2.	Drivers of Covered Farm Vehicles are not subject to the driver 
qualification rules (see Section 20 for the definition of covered farm 
vehicle). 

3.	Intrastate motor carriers of railroad employees must meet specific 
driver qualification requirements (see Minn. Stat. § 221.0255).

See Section 20 for definitions of intrastate and interstate transportation

General Requirements: Under the DQ rules, a driver must:

•	 Be at least 21 years old when engaged in interstate transportation; 
•	 Be at least 18 years old when engaged in intrastate transportation or 

21 years old if transporting certain hazardous materials;
•	 Speak and read English sufficiently to converse with the general 

public, read and understand highway signs/signals, respond to official 
inquiries and make entries on reports/records;

•	 Be able to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle;
•	 Be physically qualified (see Physical Qualifications for Drivers in this 

section);
•	 Have a driver’s license that is valid for the type of vehicle being driven;
•	 Not be disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle (see 

Driver Disqualifications below); and
•	 Successfully complete a driver’s road test or present the motor carrier 

that employs them with a CDL which the motor carrier has accepted 
as equivalent to a road test.

These DQ rules apply unless the driver and/or carrier is excepted/exempted or 
not subject to these regulations.

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/221
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Motor Carriers of Passengers Criminal Background Check: An intrastate 
Motor Carrier of Passengers must conduct an initial criminal background 
check on commercial vehicle drivers they employ as required under Minn. 
Stat. § 221.178, unless the driver holds a valid driver’s license with a school 
bus endorsement. If a driver has resided in Minnesota for fewer than 5 years, 
the carrier must conduct a search of the national criminal records repository 
or conduct a search of the criminal justice data communications network 
records for each state where the driver has resided during the past 5 years. 
A subsequent background check must be conducted every 3 years. Criminal 
background checks for Minnesota residents can be obtained from the 
Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension 651-
793-2400 or dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/Pages/background-checks.aspx.

Physical Qualifications for Drivers: (49 CFR Sections 391.41 and 391.43). A 
person is not allowed to drive a commercial motor vehicle unless physically 
qualified to do so. The medical examination must be performed by a 
Licensed Medical Examiner listed on the National Registry of Certified 
Medical Examiners which can be found at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/
national-registry/national-registry-certified-medical-examiners. The medical 
examination must follow the criteria specified by the FMSCA, as listed under 
49 CFR Section 391.43.

In general, a person is physically qualified to drive a commercial motor 
vehicle if they:

•	 Have no loss or impairment of a foot, leg, hand or arm, or have been 
granted a Skills Performance Evaluation Certificate or Intrastate 
Medical Waiver;

•	 Have no history of diabetes mellitus requiring insulin for control unless 
the person meets the requirements in §391.46;

•	 Have no current diagnosis of heart disease;
•	 Have no respiratory dysfunction likely to interfere with controlling a 

CMV;
•	 Have no rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic or muscular disease likely to 

interfere with controlling a CMV;
•	 Have no current clinical diagnosis of high blood pressure likely to 

interfere with controlling a CMV;
•	 Have no history of epilepsy or any other condition likely to cause 

unconsciousness;

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/bca/Pages/background-checks.aspx
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/national-registry/national-registry-certified-medical-examiners
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/national-registry/national-registry-certified-medical-examiners
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•	 Have no muscular, neuromuscular, vascular, mental, or other organic 
or functional disease which would interfere with their ability to 
operate a CMV safely;

•	 Have a visual acuity of at least 20/40 in each eye, with or without 
corrective lenses, field of vision of at least 70° in the horizontal 
Meridian and the ability to recognize the colors of traffic signals 
showing standard red, green and amber;

•	 Do not have hearing loss that prevents them from hearing a forced 
whisper from five feet or if tested by use of an audiometric device, 
does not have an average hearing loss in the better ear greater than 
40 decibels at 500Hz, 1,000Hz and2,000Hz;

•	 Do not use a schedule 1 controlled substance, amphetamines, 
narcotics, or other habit-forming drugs; and

•	 Have no current clinical diagnosis of alcoholism.

Medical certifications may be valid for up to two years. Licensed medical 
examiners may certify drivers for less than a two year period if certain medical 
conditions are present or need monitoring. Medical certification forms are 
available from licensed medical examiners, from private sources, or online at 
https://csa.fmcsa.dot.gov/safetyplanner/Resources/FormsLibrary.aspx.

CDL Drivers: A driver required to have a commercial driver’s license, and 
whose current medical examiner’s certificate has been submitted to the State 
in accordance with 49 CFR Section 383.71(h) documenting they meet the 
physical qualification requirements, is not required to have on their person the 
medical examiner’s certificate, or a copy for more than 15 days after the date 
it was issued (see 49 CFR Section 391.41(a)(2)(i)).

Passenger Carrier Exception: A driver of a Motor Carrier of Passenger vehicle 
who is engaged in intrastate transportation is not required to carry a medical 
certificate (as defined in 49 CFR Section 391.43) if they have a valid driver’s 
license with a valid school bus endorsement.

Driver Disqualifications: A driver who is disqualified cannot operate a CMV. 
An employer shall not require or permit a driver who is disqualified to drive a 
CMV. Disqualifying offenses include:

•	 Loss of driving privileges;
•	 Certain criminal offenses;
•	 Driving a CMV under the influence of alcohol (which includes driving 

a CMV with alcohol concentration of .04% or more, driving under the 

https://csa.fmcsa.dot.gov/safetyplanner/Resources/FormsLibrary.aspx
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
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influence of alcohol as prescribed by State Law or refusal to undergo 
testing);

•	 Driving under the influence of, transportation of, possession of, or 
unlawful use of an illegal drug;

•	 Leaving the scene of an accident while operating a CMV;
•	 A felony involving the use of a CMV;
•	 Violation of an out-of-service order;
•	 Conviction of texting while driving a CMV*; or
•	 Conviction of using a hand-held mobile telephone while driving a 

CMV**.

*See 49 CFR Section 392.80 for more information about prohibited texting. 
**See 49 CFR Section 392.82 for more information about the prohibition 
against using hand-held mobile telephones while driving.

Driver Qualification File - DQ File (49 CFR Section 391.51) 
A motor carrier must maintain a DQ file for each driver it employs. The DQ 
file is to be kept at the principal place of business for as long as the driver is 
employed by the carrier and for three years thereafter. The DQ file for each 
driver includes all of the following:

•	 A completed DOT job application for employment;
•	 A copy of the motor vehicle record received from each State (if a 

driver held a driver’s license in multiple states, during the preceding 
three years, each state must be contacted);

•	 The certificate of driver’s road test — or a legible copy of the driver’s 
CDL which the motor carrier may accept in place of a road test — 
provided the driver successfully completed the road test examination 
in a CMV of the type the motor carrier intends to assign to them (not 
including a double/triple trailer or tank vehicle endorsement);

•	 The motor vehicle record received from each state agency to the 
annual driver record inquiry;

•	 The annual review of the driving record showing the date of review 
and who performed the review;

•	 The annual list or certificate relating to violations of motor vehicle 
laws;

•	 The driver’s medical examiner’s certificate*;
•	 The driver’s SPE Certificate or medical waiver, if one has been granted;

https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/title49/b/5/3
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•	 A note showing the verification of medical examiner listing on the 
National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners for drivers not 
required to have a CDL;

•	 A written record of investigation of past employers (for the preceding 
three years) contacted to verify applicant’s previous employment, and 
drug and alcohol testing history; and

•	 For intrastate Motor Carrier of Passengers, a record of the criminal 
background check.

*Exceptions: For CDL holders, if the CDLIS motor vehicle record contains 
medical certification status information, the motor carrier employer must meet 
this requirement by obtaining the CDLIS motor vehicle record defined at 49 CFR 
Section 384.105. That record must be obtained from the current licensing State 
and placed in the driver qualification file. A non-excepted, interstate CDL holder 
without medical certification status information on the CDLIS motor vehicle 
record is designated “not-certified” to operate a CMV in interstate commerce. 
A motor carrier may use a copy of the driver’s current medical examiner’s 
certificate that was submitted to the State for up to 15 days from the date 
it was issued as proof of medical certification. See 49 CFR Section 391.51 for 
more information.

Sample driver qualification forms are available in the Safety Planner available 
on FMCSA’s website at https://csa.fmcsa.dot.gov/safetyplanner/Default.aspx.

Entry Level Training: All entry-level drivers (drivers with less than one year of 
experience operating a CMV with a CDL in interstate commerce) who drive 
in interstate commerce and are subject to CDL requirements must complete 
entry-level driver training. Entry-level driver training is training the CDL driver 
receives on driver qualifications, hours of service, driver wellness, and whistle 
blower protection. Employers must ensure entry level drivers are trained and 
a certificate of training is issued. An employer must place a copy of the driver’s 
training certificate in the DQ file or personnel record (see 49 CFR Sections 
380.501-380.513).

Longer Combination Vehicle Drivers: Drivers operating LCVs (any combination 
of a truck-tractor and two or more trailers or semi-trailers, which operate on 
the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways with a gross vehicle 
weight (GVW) greater than 80,000 pounds), must receive additional training as 
described in 49 CFR Sections 380.101-380.401. A motor carrier that employs 
an LCV driver must be able to produce evidence of the LCV certification when 
requested during a compliance review.

https://csa.fmcsa.dot.gov/safetyplanner/Default.aspx
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Accident Countermeasures

Accident countermeasures must be in place in order to reduce motor carrier 
accidents by establishing safe driving standards. A preventable accident is one 
which occurs because the driver fails to act in a reasonably expected manner 
to prevent it.

Factors in Crashes: There are many reasons why crashes occur, including:

•	 Driving too fast;
•	 Running off the road or out of traffic; and 
•	 Failure to yield to the right of way.

Safe Driving Tips: There are things you can do to reduce the risk of a crash. 

•	 Take care of yourself. Fatigue and lack of attention will increase your 
risk of crashes. To avoid this, get plenty of rest before driving, eat well 
and stay fit, and comply with the hours of service regulations.

•	 Maintain your vehicle. Inspect your vehicle carefully before each trip, 
and learn how to inspect your brakes, identify safety defects, and get 
them repaired.

•	 Be aware of your “No Zone.” Adjust your mirrors and watch out for 
other vehicles.

•	 Slowdown in work zones. Stay alert and watch out for highway 
construction. Take your time and give yourself plenty of room.

•	 Keep your distance. Always leave enough room between your vehicle 
and the vehicle in front of you.

Accident Reporting: Anyone involved in a traffic crash must stop at the crash 
site. Call for law enforcement and an ambulance if needed. Provide reasonable 
assistance to anyone who sustained injuries in the crash. All drivers involved 
in the crash should exchange names, addresses and vehicle license plate 
numbers, as well as showing driver’s licenses, if requested.

A report must be filed with Driver and Vehicle Services if a crash results in 
injury, death or the total property damage is $1000 or more. The reports must 
be filed within 10 days of the crash. For more information, contact Driver and 
Vehicle Services at 651-296-3940 or email them at  
DVS.driverslicense@state.mn.us. 

mailto:DVS.driverslicense%40state.mn.us?subject=
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